Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships 2025

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships  2025

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship (QECS) is inviting students to apply for Queen Elizabeth Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Programme 2024 / 2025 academic year.

Scholarship Application Closing Date: 24 May 2024

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships (QECS) 2024 / 2025

The Association of Commonwealth Universities is inviting students to apply for cycle 2 of the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships (QECS), for the 2024 / 2025 academic year.

The scholarship allows for students to pursue a 2 years Master’s degree, in a low or middle income Commonwealth country (outside of their country of citizenship).

Scholarships will be awarded for studies at the following institutions, within the following fields:


University of Venda:


University of Pretoria:

  • Water and Environmental Engineering
  • Energy
  • Environment and Biodiversity: biodiversity in the age of climate change and sustainability
  • Big Data Science: machine learning and AI and various applications in physics and mathematics
  • Economic, Management and Financial Sciences

University of the South Pacific:

  • MA Environmental Management
  • MSc Biology
  • MSc Chemistry
  • MSc Civil Engineering
  • MSc Electrical Engineering
  • MSc Environmental Science
  • MSc Mechanical Engineering
  • MSc Physics

Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology:

University of Mauritius:

  • MPH Master of Public Health

Papua New Guinea University of Technology:

  • MCS Communication Studies
  • MEng Communication Engineering
  • MEng Civil Engineering
  • MEng Mechanical Engineering
  • MSc Agriculture
  • MSc Applied Physics
  • MTech Exploration Geophysics

University of Colombo:

  • MSc Cellular and Molecular Immunology
  • MSc Molecular Life Sciences

University of Sri Jayewardenepura:

  • MBA Master of Business Administration

The scholarship provides cover for the following expenses:

  • Tuition fees,
  • Living allowance (stipend),
  • Return economy flights to host country and a one-off arrival allowance.
  • The scholarship may also provide a research support grant, on request only and subject to approval.

The QECS is aimed at students who are committed to creating change, in their home country and their host country where they will study. Scholars will receive a life-changing opportunity to experience a new country and culture, broaden their horizons, and build a lifelong global network.

Eligibility Requirements:

Applicants must satisfy the following minimum entry criteria before applying:

  • You must be a citizen or have a refugee status in a Commonwealth country, which includes the following:
  1. AFRICA: South Africa, Botswana, Cameroon, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Kingdom of Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Togo, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia,
  2. ASIA: Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, India, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka
  3. CARIBBEAN AND AMERICAS: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago
  4. EUROPE: Cyprus, Malta, United Kingdom
  5. PACIFIC: Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu
  • You must have completed an undergraduate degree at a 2:1 equivalent level
  • You must intend on pursuing a 2 year Masters degree qualification
  • You must intend on studying outside of your home country or country of citizenship
  • You must intend on studying at one of the above approved institutions, within one of the approved fields listed above
  • You must submit a university application at the same time as the scholarship application
  • You must complete a SAQA equivalence to be considered for a scholarship, if applying for studies in South Africa
  • You must meet the entry requirements of your selected institution:
  1. University of the South Pacific: read here
  2. Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology: read here
  3. University of Mauritius: read here
  4. Papua New Guinea University of Technology: must have completed a Bachelor’ degree in the relevant discipline with GPA of 3 out of 5 for all the listed courses
  5. University of Pretoria: read here
  6. University of Venda: must have completed an Honours degree, and have achieved a minimum overall average of 65% in the final year
  7. University of Colombo: read here
  8. University of Sri Jayewardenepura: read here


How to Apply

Applications must be submitted online at: Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Application 2024/ 2025

You will be required to Register a profile before you can Login and apply.

Applicants should read the following before applying:

The application is made up of the following sections:

  • Eligibility
  • Personal Information
  • Academic and Employment Record
  • Course at host university details
  • Statements (made up of 3 main statements:
  1. 1) your plan of study in 200 to 400 words,
  2. 2) the development impact and post study outreach in 300 to 500 words,
  3. 3) creating networks in 200 to 400 words)
  • Uploading supporting documents (including references, copy of your final transcript and degree certificate, copy of your Identity Document or passport, proof of application at an approved institution)